A Day in Paris

So I’ve been gone for quite a while now..

What have I been up to?

I disappeared off the radar back in October after I signed myself up for a TCF examen “Test de Connaissance du Français” at the Sorbonne University in Paris. Cue complete geek breakdown. For the geek in his life my boyfriend bought me the two requisitory revision books for this exam for our three-year anniversary (two spent in France – time flies!!). Maybe some girls would be a little bit disappointed with this kind of gift but I think I ate the first one over one weekend.. It was so long since I had a real academic project with a deadline that I just threw myself headfirst, evenings were spent with my old study playlists booming in my headphones while I devoured le subjonctif, l’imparfait, le passé, pourquoi cet nom est féminin et pas masculin ? etc.

I took the TGV at an ungodly freezing cold hour in the morning for an exam beginning at 10am in the 5th arrondissement..which was just as well given I had to take two metros and then I still had to ask a poor guy for directions! Arriving at my destination I was surrounded my Asians (so so many Asians!!), once in the auditorium it was a strange game of “spot the caucasian.” In an ever more multi-cultural society it’s still a strange feeling in Europe to be surrounded by people who are usually the occupants of another continent. I even discussed this with my Chinese fellow-test taker behind me, who started to inform me of all the different Asian nationalites we had in the room; quite a cool observation to my ignorant eyes.

The test is broken down into three sections “Compréhension orale, Structures de la langue, et Compréhension Ecrite,” and I was pretty confident with my listening and reading skills but not so much with my grammar knowledge. Anyway, the listening section began, all good very easy questions until WAIT idiot woman next to me has a fit. She started to move her papers all around the place, shouting “I can’t follow, it’s too fast it’s too fast!”

http---makeagif.com--media-2-10-2014-NnHbju“No one could give a flying fuck!” 

Seriously, for anyone reading this who will ever take an exam with a listening section -STFU when there about 120 people in the room! The height of selfishness.

I’m clearly still not over that one ooops.

I received the results a few weeks and despite the horrendous bad luck of sitting next to diahoerra mouth, I got a C1! Now for those of you who are not familiar with the Common European Framework of Language Levels i.e. almost everybody, here is a little refresher:

A1 Breakthrough or beginner

A2 Waystage or elementary

B1 Threshold or intermediate

B2 Vantage or upper intermediate

C1 Effective Operational Proficiency or advanced

C2 Mastery or proficiency

So I received the score below the top score. I was ridiiiiculously happy with the result, if not a little surprised after the little hiccup at the beginning.
I am feeling very optimistic about the future now, and my application to go back to school – the only way is up!
After the exam I spent the day in Paris and as it was December I took in some of the Christmas decorations, enjoy 🙂 

IMGP7721IMGP7715IMGP7723IMGP7726In France, I will always be “Anna.”

2 thoughts on “A Day in Paris

What are your thoughts?

